top of page

Newark Head - December 3rd 2023

Updated: Feb 6, 2023

On Saturday 3rd December, we headed over to Newark for this years Newark Head, with crews racing across both divisions.

Three crews tackled the 8km row to the start and then 5km race in the first division, with our Open and Womens quads both coming 2nd in their respective categories despite strong rows.

In an East Midlands rivalry, our Op.8+ faced Nottingham Rowing Club in Band 1 Eights. A lot of the members in both crews know eachother, 3 of our crew used to row at Nottingham Rowing Club, and 3 of their crew have either rowed at Derby Rowing Club or considered a move here… so it was all to play for.

Leading out the division, Derby had a strong start and came past Farndon Marina several minutes ahead of the rest of the field, with a strong line around that bend and a call up past the weir at the finish, the Derby crew came home 9 seconds clear of Nottingham Rowing Club, netting the win, fastest boat in the division, the £100 prize money and some may say most importantly… the bragging rights.

Derby Band 1 8+. Left to Right: Phoebe Cook (Cox), Ollie Hanks (Vice-Captain), James Bennett, Matt Ley (President), Tim Maine, James Walker, Sam Mountford (Bar Manager), James Grattidge (Committee Member), Toby Reid


In Division 2, racing over the shorter but tricker 3.9km course with a sharp right-hand turn, our 6 crews raced well, bringing home 4 wins and 2 second places by narrow margins. The Op.4x- of Ollie, Bennett, Matt and Toby were fastest boat of the Division by 17 seconds, taking home the coveted Fastest Open Crew prize alongside their medals.

Left to Right: Ollie Hanks (Vice-Captain), James Bennett, Matt Ley (President), Toby Reid (Steers)

The W.4x- made light work of the Womens Quads, winning by over a minute.

Left to Right: Chloe Storer, Lizzy Wilkes, Erica Gauler (Steers & Committee Member). Not pictured: Danielle Hobbs.

Our Op.2- who won by the same margin.

Left to Right: Tim Maine (Steers), James Walker

Finally, our W.2-, despite racing for Time Only following the scratch of the opposition were awarded the win in a time that would have won B2 W.2x.

Left to Right: Emily Carr (Welfare Officer), Martha Nutkins (Steers & Club Captain)


A very well done to all of the winners and all of the members who raced.

All Derby RC representatives. Left to Right: Stella Scott, Chloe Garnham, Sophie Payne, Chloe Storer, Erica Gauler, Lizzy Wilkes, Emily Carr, Matt Ley, Martha Nutkins, Phoebe Cook, Obie Bennett, Tim Maine, Toby Reid, James Walker, Ollie Hanks, James Grattidge, James Bennett, Sam Mountford


Martha Nutkins

Club Captain

22 views0 comments


bottom of page